The most beautiful lazy kate in the world!

Jeromy made me an absolutely gorgeous lazy kate for our 5th anniversary!

A lazy kate is a device that holds spun yarn singles for plying, to turn singles into a normal, plied yarn. I bought one when I bought my Schacht Sidekick wheel in 2013, but I hated the design! It took up too much space, the yarns tangled with each other, and I couldn’t tension them very well despite the built in tensioner! This one has both “gravity” tension (by adjusting the angle of the lid) and spring tension. It is so much nicer and is so beautiful! He made it with bird’s eye maple, curly maple, and cherry wood.

Here are some antique videos of me spinning on the wheel

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

