Video and my missing decade

I spend a lot of time at work thinking about video cards and computer graphics. The people I work with need to present very specifically sized and timed stimulus to their research subjects, and it’s my job to keep all the peripherals in order (projectors, rear-projector screens, computers, response devices) and sometimes to write code to present certain stimuli. A “stimulus” is often something like a flashing or sliding checkerboard, or a “drifting grating“.

My problem is that I missed out on a decade of pop culture and technological development, leaving me a bit confused. I was somehow absent from the regular world for most of the 2000-2009 decade, thanks to being at the south pole, hiding in a cabin in the New Hampshire woods, and moving to Switzerland but not learning German. Somewhere in that decade, the world switched from video with a 4:3 aspect ratio to video with a 16:9 aspect ratio. Computer screens and TVs got wider, and in the upgrade to digital video signals, people threw away VGA cables in favor of a confusing array of DVI and HDMI cables. I repatriated right around one of the doomsday (but later postponed) deadlines for analog TV broadcast being converted to digital. I signed up for my US government voucher for a free converter box, even though I had absolutely no idea what it was for.

I missed out on a lot of TV and movies, too, so if anyone has some favorite suggestions from the last decade, I’m all ears (and eyes)!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sez

     /  June 29, 2012

    Not sure if this is the kind of thing you are asking for, but check out “The Guild” – A web only sitcom series that started back in 2007. The creator, Felicia Day, has gone on to create a YouTube channel called “Geek and Sundry”, which is also well worth checking out.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Guild
    http://www.watchtheguild.com/
    http://geekandsundry.com/

    Reply
  2. “The Wire”, even though I’ve only gotten through Season 1.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

